Training cascade separate Models

Hi,
I am a newbie have been working on simple RNN modelling, and now I am designing a system that has two models (model_A, model_B), both RNN models.
After trying weeks to solve my issue, and finally asking you guys for help to make it run.
My model is intended to work as follows:

1. model_A is trained with input x and output y …no problem.
  2. when done, model_A is set to eval mode by 'model_A.eval() ’
  3. model_B is defined and to be trained in the following way:
    input x->model_B-> z(as nterim output)->model_A->y as output
  4. then it shows an error when model_B.backward() is called : “cudnn RNN backward can only be called in training mode”
    It seems like that model_A is blocking the gradient process. but have no idea how to work around it

I need your help for any ideas to solve this issue…
Thank you.

You could either call .train() on the nn.RNN, as cudnn needs this layer in training mode to calculate the gradients (and disable dropout if necessary in this layer via model.rnn.dropout = 0.0) or disable cudnn for this layer via:

x = ...
with torch.backends.cudnn.flags(enabled=False):
    x = self.rnn(x)
x = ...

thanks for the comment, as you mentioned, I put the code in forward():

x_rnn_input = x.view(batch_size,-1,rnn_input_size)  
    with torch.backends.cudnn.flags(enabled=False): 
        output_rnn, hidden_rnn = self.rnn_layer(x_rnn_input

but the same result is given. (yes, the dropout = 0 is set as well)

The approach seems to work here.
Could you post an executable code snippet, which would reproduce the issue you are seeing?

Not using torch.nograd() during eval???

If model_A shouldn’t be trained, this would be the right approach.
However, based on the initial description of the issue I understood that model_A should be further trained in eval() mode.

CC @superco to clarify the use case. :slight_smile: