Trying to get a better grasp of the fundamentals -- can an optimizer be called on a tensor that's not part of an nn.Module?

Hi all –

I’m brand new to PyTorch, so please forgive my naivete. I’m trying to build my own version of the SnapChat gender-swapping filter. The approach I’ve settled on, in pseudo-code, is as follows:

#I already have two working models ready to be loaded as follows, both set to .eval() after loading.
gender_classifier = load(pretrained_gender_classifier_model)
face_embedder = load(pretrained_VGGFace2_model)

#The user submits a photo to be processed, and the "ground truth" of that photo is determined.
ground_truth_gender = gender_classifier(user_submitted_image)
ground_truth_embedding = face_embedder(user_submitted_image)

#Initialize a random image to refine into the final product
candidate = tensor(white_noise_image, requires_grad = True)

optimizer = torch.optim.Adam([candidate], lr = lr)

#Training Loop
for i in num_iterations:
    optimizer.zero_grad()

#Determine the embedding and gender of the candidate
    candidate_gender = gender_classifier(candidate)
    candidate_embedding = face_embedder(candidate)

#Determine how bad these values are compared to what I *want*, which is
    #a similar embedding, but opposite gender.
    gender_loss = binary_cross_entropy(candidate_gender, !ground_truth_gender)
    embedding_loss = mse_loss(candidate_embedding, ground_truth_embedding)

loss = gender_loss * hyperparameter_weight + embedding_loss

optimizer.step()

I realize this is not a great implementation of what is effectively a form of neural style transfer, and I’ve tried reading through the official PyTorch tutorial on NST, but found that the approach used there is vastly different from what I’m attempting here.