Understanding Enropy

I’m a student working on a PPO implementation and trying to understand how entropy is inferred in the following examples. I have a basic understanding of what entropy is after watching Aurelian Geron’s video. (Sorry. I’m a newb and not allowed to overuse links)

In shangtongzhang’s implementation of PPO,

def __init__(self,
                 state_dim,
                 action_dim,
                 phi_body=None,
                 actor_body=None,
                 critic_body=None):
        super(GaussianActorCriticNet, self).__init__()
        self.network = ActorCriticNet(state_dim, action_dim, phi_body, actor_body, critic_body)
        self.std = nn.Parameter(torch.zeros(action_dim))
        self.to(Config.DEVICE)

def forward(self, obs, action=None):
        obs = tensor(obs)
        phi = self.network.phi_body(obs)
        phi_a = self.network.actor_body(phi)
        phi_v = self.network.critic_body(phi)
        mean = F.tanh(self.network.fc_action(phi_a))
        v = self.network.fc_critic(phi_v)
        dist = torch.distributions.Normal(mean, F.softplus(self.std))
        if action is None:
            action = dist.sample()
        log_prob = dist.log_prob(action).sum(-1).unsqueeze(-1)
        entropy = dist.entropy().sum(-1).unsqueeze(-1)

The distribution is driven by the line self.std = nn.Parameter(torch.zeros(action_dim)) where the softplus function is applied to this to get a distribution. Isn’t this just a bunch of zeros that never change?

This suggests that entropy is a fixed property or basically specified by the creator of the network. If so, I’m struggling to see the point of adding an entropy term to the advantage. I’ve seen implementations that use a parameter in place of the zeros. This makes more sense to me if entropy is basically a specified and static parameter.

In this implementation:

self.fc_actor_mean = nn.Linear(256, self.action_dim)
        self.fc_actor_std = nn.Linear(256, self.action_dim)