Unstable tensor creation when selecting GPU

Hi all,

I am a newbie in Pytorch. When I select GPU by os.environ[“CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES”], I got a weird and very annoying error when running this code:

import os
os.environ["CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES"] = "1"
import torch
arr = [[2, 573, 2119, 1, 1, 0, 1441, 1, 2119, 2, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0]]
b = torch.tensor(arr, dtype=torch.int64, device='cuda')
print (b)
assert b.sum().item() > 0

Supposedly, b must be tensor([[ 2, 573, 2119, 1, 1, 0, 1441, 1, 2119, 2, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0]], device=‘cuda:0’). But somehow, sometimes b becomes tensor([[0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]], device=‘cuda:0’).

MY CUDA version: Cuda compilation tools, release 8.0, V8.0.44
This is my GPU detail:

Thank you so much for your help!!

That sounds weird. Are you seeing this effect only on GPU1?

Yes, it’s normal in GPU0

It looks like it’s always using “cuda:0” nonetheless.

Supposedly, b must be tensor([[ 2, 573, 2119, 1, 1, 0, 1441, 1, 2119, 2, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0]], device=‘cuda:0’). But somehow, sometimes b becomes tensor([[0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]], device=‘cuda:0’).

Can you try it without that line (`os.environ[“CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES”] = “1”) and see if it works normally then? I have actually never used that except when I was using TensorFlow and I am not sure if this plays well with PyTorch.

You can do either

b = torch.tensor(arr, dtype=torch.int64, device=‘cuda:1’)

or

b = torch.tensor(arr, dtype=torch.int64, device=‘cuda:0’)

depending on which GPU you want to use.

If I don’t choose GPU, everything works fine. The thing is I had to share GPUs with others so I had to choose GPUs to run.

this makes the code keep running without stopping and doesn’t show anything. But device=‘cuda:0’ works normally.

If I don’t choose GPU, everything works fine. The thing is I had to share GPUs with others so I had to choose GPUs to run.