Why my DistributedDataParallel is slower than DataParallel if my Dataset is not loaded fully in memory

I am using a custom dataset and used custom data.Dataset class for loading it.

class MyDataset(data.Dataset):

def __init__(self, datasets, transform=None, target_transform=None):
        self.datasets = datasets
        self.transform = transform

def __len__(self):
        return len(self.datasets)

def __getitem__(self, index):
        image = Image.open(os.path.join(self.datasets[index][0]))
        if self.transform:
            image = self.transform(image)
        return image, torch.tensor(self.datasets[index][1], dtype=torch.long)

When I started training on my 4 GPU machine, unlike the mentioned in Pytorch documentation, I found that DistributedDataParallel is slower than DataParallel!

I reviewed my code carefully and tried different configurations and batch sizes (especially the DataLoader num_workers) to see what makes DistributedDataParallel runs faster than DataParallel as expected, but nothing worked.

The only change I did that made DistributedDataParallel faster is loading the whole dataset into memory during initialization!

class Inmemory_Dataset(data.Dataset):

def __init__(self, datasets, transform=None, target_transform=None):
        self.datasets = datasets
        transform = transform
        image_list = []
        target_list = []
        for i, data in enumerate(datasets):
            image = Image.open(os.path.join(data[0]))
            if transform:
                image = transform(image)
            image_list.append(image.numpy())
            target_list.append(data[1])
        self.images = torch.tensor(image_list)
        self.targets = torch.tensor(target_list, dtype=torch.long)

def __len__(self):
        return len(self.datasets)

def __getitem__(self, index):
        return self.images[index], self.targets[index]