Word embedding not consistent when using nn.Embedding()

Hi, I am new to pytorch, here is my question.
For CoNLL03 NER task, I did the following preprocessing:

1. build the vocab, idx2word, word2idx etc.
  2. build a pre-trained word embedding “E” in a FloatTensor of shape(vocab_size, embedding_dim). I built it according to the idx in my vocab. E.g. if “Hello” has the index 42, then E[42] would be the embedding for “Hello”

Here is my model:

def BiLSTM(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, embeddings, embedding_dim):
        super(BiLSTM, self).__init__()
        self.word_embeddings = nn.Embedding(num_embeddings=embeddings.shape[0], embedding_dim=embedding_dim).cuda()
        self.word_embeddings.from_pretrained(embeddings, freeze=False)
        #the "embeddings" here is the tensor E I mentioned above
    def forward(self, inputs):
        #inputs: [batch_size,seq_len], each entry is the index of that token
        x = self.word_embeddings(inputs)  

Here I found an issue:
In my understanding, x[0][0] here should correspond to the first token of the first seq from inputs. It should be the embedding for that 1st word. However, when I printed out x[0][0], it was different from the embedding of that 1st word.

It shouldn’t be that the embedding weights were updated because I hadn’t call loss.backward() and optimizer.step() yet. Did I do anything wrong?

How do you create embeddings? For example I use GloVe files and my custom code looking like that:

embed_mat = word_vector_loader.create_embedding_matrix('glove.6B.100d.txt', vectorizer.vocabulary.word_to_index, max_idx)

When I then look at an mebedding for a random index value:

print(vectorizer.vocabulary.index_to_word[105]) ==> e.g., for me, "always"
print(embed_mat[105])