Writing fast Dataset class

Hi all! I am relatively new to pytorch, and wanted some help in writing a dataset class that could possibly use pytorch inbuilt dataset generators like DataFolder or other utilities.

I am working on the ModelNet10 dataset and my directory structure looks like follows:
root directory contains 10 folders (bathtub,bedroom,toilet,…). These contain 2 folders (train and test) each, which further contain around 500 stl files. Right now , my dataset class looks like follows:

class MeshData(Dataset):

def __init__(self,root_dir):
    self.classes = set()
    self.X = []
    self.Y = []
    self.final_dataset = []
    self.classes_codec = LabelEncoder()

lst_of_classes = os.listdir(root_dir)
    lst_of_classes.sort()

self.classes_codec.fit(lst_of_classes)

for x in lst_of_classes:
        print(x)

path = root_dir + '/' + x + '/train'
        lst_of_objects = os.listdir(path)
        for y in lst_of_objects:
            file_path = path + '/' + y

dict_para = input_stl(file_path)
            if dict_para == False:
                print('Input file',y,'has problems')
                continue
            else:	
                neigh = dict_para["neigh_index"]
                corner = dict_para["corners"]
                center = dict_para["centroids"]
                normal = dict_para["normals"]

self.X.append(np.concatenate((center,corner,normal,neigh),axis=1))
                self.Y.append((self.one_hot_encode(self.classes_codec,[x])))

self.final_dataset = [self.X,self.Y]

def one_hot_encode(self,codec,values):
    value_idxs = codec.transform(values)
    val,idx = torch.max(torch.eye(len(codec.classes_))[value_idxs],1)
    return torch.LongTensor(idx)

def __len__(self):
    return len(self.final_dataset)

def __getitem__(self,idx):
    return torch.from_numpy(self.X[idx]),self.Y[idx]