Zero'ing one input's gradient for Matrix Multiply

Hi! the @ operator, or matrix multiply, is stateless and accepts 2 input tensors. During the backprop, my understanding is that it’ll calculate two gradients w.r.t. the 2 input tensors, which will each update any variables via the chain rule along the paths that produce them, respectively.

In my experiment, I want to zero out the gradient for only one input tensor and keep the other as-is. My guess is that I need to use autograd, but I’m fairly new to this and the toy example (PyTorch: Defining New autograd Functions — PyTorch Tutorials 1.7.0 documentation) doesn’t seem suffice. Please help!

I figured I could use the tutorial to add a new custom ‘Identity’ layer that passes through activations in forward prop but zeros out the gradient in back prop. But I’m really curious about how to do it properly with bmm (@). Thanks.

It turns out that I also need to modify the gradient of the other operand. Is there any example or tutorial that shows how to use Autograd function with an operation that produces multiple gradients? TIA.

class FwdOnlyIdentity(torch.autograd.Function):
    @staticmethod
    def forward(ctx, input):
        # pass the input feature map unmodified, as Identity
        return input

@staticmethod
    def backward(ctx, grad_output):
        zero_grad_input = torch.zeros_like(grad_output) # set gradient w.r.t. input to 0's
        return zero_grad_input

Above is that I implemented for what I originally asked about.

Then, instead of directly doing a @ b, I added self.fwd_identity = FwdOnlyIdentity.apply. Then in the forward function, the computation becomes self.fwd_identity(a) @ b. Does this make sense?

in the simplest case, you can just do something like x.detach() @ weights

1 Like

The matrix multiply here doesn’t have any trainable weights. It takes two activation tensors as input.