Adding an input to every node in a layer

I’m interested in adding a new input to every node in a layer for a defined architecture. I made a quick graphic in a simple network. The nodes and solid lines are the existing architecture, and I want to add a new input (dashed lines) to each node in a layer. I only want my new input to map a single connection to the corresponding node in the layer.

Sorry if this has an easy solution! I’m still learning my way around PyTorch.
Thanks!

Would you like to add these values to the output activations of another layer?
If so, just add this tensor to the output of a specific layer in your forward method:

def forward(self, x, additional_x):
    x = F.relu(self.fc1(x))
    x = x + additional_x
    x = F.relu(self.fc2(x))
    return x

Let me know, if I misunderstood your use case.

If I’m understanding you correctly, then if I wanted every node in a layer to have 4 inputs, I could just do something like:

def forward(self, x1, x2, x3, x4):
    x = x1 + x2 + x3 + x4
    x = F.relu(self.fc(x))

And each input (x1 … x4) would be given its own weight parameter?

Also, I’m interested in implementing the reverse of this operation; how can I add a layer of output nodes to an existing layer?

Sorry if this violates forum rules. I’m happy to start a new thread

I might have misunderstood your question.
x1, x2, … would be the inputs to your model which are just summed.
Would you like to pass these inputs separately to the same layer?

x = self.fc(x) will store the output activations in x. You can pass it to a new layer just by calling self.fc2(x). Could you explain the first image a bit, as I’m still unsure about your use case?

Yes, I do not want my inputs to be fully connected – they should be passed separately to each node.

Let’s say I want to build an autoencoder like this

where I have three types of data that contribute to every node, but the inputs are specific to that node. How would I implement the input and output layers?