Adding layers to MobileNetV2

Hi all,

I’m new to the DL field and pytorch.
I want to use pretrained MobileNetV2 but instead of its classifier, add 1x1 convolutional layer+max pooling+convolutional layer+other linear layers (all this in order to reduce the output to less dimensions so I can cluster it later on).

When I tried to run the next code I got “Expected 4-dimensional input for 4-dimensional weight [1280, 1280, 2, 2], but got 2-dimensional input of size [2, 1280] instead”.

Here’s the code:
model = models.mobilenet_v2(pretrained=True)
for param in model.parameters():
param.requires_grad = False

#modify last layer of the net
fc = nn.Sequential(
nn.Conv2d(1280, 1280, kernel_size=(2, 2), stride=(2, 2), bias=False),
nn.MaxPool2d(kernel_size=2, stride=2, padding=0),
nn.Conv2d(1280, 320, kernel_size=(1, 1), stride=(1, 1), bias=False),
nn.Dropout(0.2),
nn.BatchNorm1d(320),
nn.ReLU(),
nn.Dropout(0.3),
nn.Linear(320,NUM_CLASSES),
n.LogSoftmax(dim=1)
)
model.classifier = fc
criterion = nn.NLLLoss()
optimizer = torch.optim.Adam(model.classifier.parameters(), lr=0.0015)
model.to(DEVICE)
summary(model, input_size=(3, 224, 224))

Is there someone who managed to that successfully? Or tell me where am I wrong?

Thanks a lot in advance!

The original forward implementation will flatten the activation output in this line of code before passing it to the classifier.
You could add a custom module at the beginning of your nn.Sequential container and reshape the activation back or alternatively create a custom model and override the forward method.

Once this is solved, note that your nn.Sequential module is missing an nn.Flatten layer after the last nn.Conv2d layer (and also uses nn.BatchNorm1d, which might be a typo).

Thank you very much for answering!