An autoencoder with multiple inputs

Hi everybody,
I’m new to pytorch and trying to implement a multimodal deep autoencoder(means: autoencoder with multiple inputs)
At the first all inputs encode with same encoder architecture, after that, all outputs concatenates together and the output goes into the another encoding and deoding layers:
SharedScreenshot

At the end, last decoder layer must reconstruct the inputs as multiple outputs.

Now I have between one and 9 inputs depending on the user’s choice and each input is a 1215x1519 matrix.

I’m rally stuck in first and last layers of this autoencoder.

Can anyone help me in this case?
Thanks.

@ptrblck

You could implement the posted model architecture using nn.ModuleLists as seen here:

class MyModel(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self):
        super().__init__()
        self.encoders = nn.ModuleList()
        for _ in range(9):
            self.encoders.append(nn.Linear(4, 3))

self.encoder = nn.Sequential(
            nn.Linear(9*3, 4),
            nn.ReLU(),
            nn.Linear(4, 3)
        )
        self.decoder = nn.Sequential(
            nn.Linear(3, 4),
            nn.ReLU(),
            nn.Linear(4, 9*3)
        )
        self.decoders = nn.ModuleList()
        for _ in range(9):
            self.decoders.append(nn.Linear(3, 4))

def forward(self, inputs):
        out = []
        for idx, enc in enumerate(self.encoders):
            out.append(enc(inputs[idx]))
        out = torch.cat(out, dim=1)
        z = self.encoder(out)
        out = self.decoder(z)
        out = torch.split(out, 3, dim=1)
        outs = []
        for idx, dec in enumerate(self.decoders):
            outs.append(dec(out[idx]))
        return outs

model = MyModel()
inputs = [torch.randn(1, 4) for _ in range(9)]
outs = model(inputs)

I don’t know which activation functions should be used etc. so you could use this code snippet as a base implementation and adapt it to your use case.