Anomaly detection points to LayerNormalization operation for in-place error

Hello,

I am working on a custom Decoder-Only Transformer model, for which I am trying to test whether backpropagation works in general. I am relatively new to PyTorch, so I might overlook the main issue. In order to check for compatibility, I am trying to check how the outputs are adjusted for three very basic inputs. Unfortunately, I first encountered “RuntimeError: Trying to backward through the graph a second time (or directly access saved tensors after they have already been freed)”, and set retain_graph=True to combat this issue. Unfortunately, now I get “RuntimeError: one of the variables needed for gradient computation has been modified by an inplace operation: [torch.FloatTensor [6]] is at version 3; expected version 1 instead”, but I cannot seem to figure out where an in-place operation takes place. I have ensured that I use no += or *= operations, and no methods with trailing underscore. Anomaly detection simply points me to

x = self.N_2(x).reshape(T,B,S,E).contiguous()

, where N_2 is a simple LayerNormalization. I have tried for hours to insert multiple clone() statements, and changing variable names, but I am fairly certain that there are no in-place operations.

My training loop is very simple, since I only attempted to see whether backpropagation works at all:

batch = [(embedding, output), (embedding2, output2), (embedding3, output3)]

optimizer = torch.optim.AdamW(decoder.parameters(), lr=0.0001)

for i in range(3):
    with torch.autograd.detect_anomaly():
        preds, attention, loss = decoder(batch[i][0], targets=batch[i][1])
        optimizer.zero_grad(set_to_none=True)
        loss.backward(retain_graph=True)
        optimizer.step()
        print(preds)

Is there something I overlooked? Would be really grateful for help, since I have been stuck at this point for quite some time…