Apply median filter on image stack with gpu

I’m new to pytorch.

I have roughly 1000 images of size 250*1000, where roughly 60% of the pixel values are nan.

Currently I’m processing these on a CPU with matlab and it’s slower than I wanted.

I’m trying to put the processing on GPU, and using PyTorch tensor was suggested by a friend.

One of the steps that takes long is to apply median filter to each pixel of each slice, if it’s not nan.

Here’s my code:

It turns out the same code on CPU runs only 2 seconds, while GPU takes roughly 30 seconds. Then I’m repeating this 1000 times.

I think there’s something ignorant that I’m doing that’s making the GPU slow.

Based on the posted screenshot I would assume you could use unfold to create the image patches and call nanmedian() on these. While this would increase the memory usage, it should also speed up the workload (assuming it can fit into your GPU).

PS: you can post code snippets by wrapping them into three backticks ```, which makes debugging easier :wink:

Thank you for the reply. I’ve tried unfolding the images like below. The unfolded becomes something of size 250*1024*441, then I called nanmedian() on each patch. which ended up being even slower actually…

I think the double for loops is what’s killing the time

Do you know any way other than nanmedian() to achieve the same thing?

Is there anyway that I can interpolate the values in the third dimension to fill all the 441 values to eliminate all the NaN values? then I can simply take the middle index… (Found out sorting along third column takes no time on GPU which is fantastic)

Or is there a way to set half of NaN to positive infinity and the other half to negative infinity?

I’m still exploring, in the meantime if you know a quick answer that would be awesome.

x=S_pad
kh, kw = 21, 21 # kernel size
dh, dw = 1, 1 # stride
patches = x.unfold(0, kh, dh).unfold(1, kw, dw)
patches=torch.flatten(patches, start_dim=2)
unfold_shape = patches.size()