Autoencoder and Classification inside the same model

Hello everyone,

I am new to PyTorch . I would like to train a simple autoencoder and use the encoded layer as an input for a classification task (ideally inside the same model). This is my implementation:

class Mixed(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, n_embedded):
        super(Mixed, self).__init__()
        self.encoder = nn.Sequential(
            nn.Linear(X_train.shape[1], n_embedded),
            nn.ReLU()                 
        )
        self.decoder = nn.Sequential(
            nn.Linear(n_embedded, X_train.shape[1])
        )
        self.classifier = nn.Sequential(
            nn.Linear(n_embedded, 1),
            nn.Dropout(0.2),
            nn.Sigmoid()
        )
    def forward(self, x):
        encoded = self.encoder(x)
        decoded = self.decoder(encoded)
        out = self.classifier(encoded)
        return decoded, out

model = Mixed(40)

criterion1 = nn.MSELoss()
criterion2 = nn.BCELoss()

optimizer = optim.Adam(model.parameters(), lr=0.01)

epochs = 150

for epoch in range(epochs): 
    for inputs, labels in train_loader:
        inputs = Variable(inputs)
        labels = Variable(labels)       
        optimizer.zero_grad()
        decoded, out = model(inputs)

loss1 = criterion1(decoded, inputs) 
        loss2 = criterion2(out, labels)
        loss = loss1 + loss2
        loss.backward()
        optimizer.step()

When I run the model, it generates a meaningful result but I just want to make sure that the architecture is correct.

Thank you for your time.

4 Likes

The code looks fine.
Just a small side note: Variables are deprecated since PyTorch 0.4.0 so you can just use tensors instead in newer versions. :wink:

1 Like

Thank you very much for your help!

Hi ptrblck,

I’m trying to implement a similar thing here, but