Basic autocast usage

Hi,

I’m a relative beginner compared to many on these fora, so kid gloves please…

I’ve created a Conda env with the latest PyTorch nightly build in a bid to try and use autocast to get a GAN working (https://github.com/eriklindernoren/PyTorch-GAN/blob/master/implementations/relativistic_gan/relativistic_gan.py) that currently causes memory errors in my setup (RTX 2070).

I’ve added the relevant code as per the docs - @autocast() to both forward passes, scaler = GradScaler() before training loop, and scaling on loss and backward pass inside the training loop. I’m just missing something basic like an import, or maybe I’ve downloaded the wrong nightly build (I used conda install pytorch torchvision cudatoolkit=10.1 -c pytorch-nightly).

Help please!

Thanks and apologies for luddite question,

Mark

What kind of error are you seeing and could you please post the PyTorch version you are using via print(torch.__version__)?

They’re very basic errors such as

NameError: name 'GradScaler' is not defined

and

NameError: name 'autocast' is not defined

current version is 1.6.0.dev20200407

@Mark_Hanslip Glad you’re trying the native API! The full import paths are torch.cuda.amp.autocast and torch.cuda.amp.GradScaler. Often, for brevity, usage snippets don’t show full import paths, silently assuming the names were imported earlier and that you skimmed the class or function declaration/header to obtain each path. For example, a snippet that shows

@autocast()
def forward...

silently assumes you wrote from torch.cuda.amp import autocast earlier in the script.

Try from torch.cuda.amp import autocast at the top of your script, or alternatively

@torch.cuda.amp.autocast()
def forward...

and treat GradScaler the same way.

The implicit-import-for-brevity-in-code-snippets is common practice throughout Pytorch docs, but may not be obvious if you’re relatively new to them.