[Beginner] Gradients intuition?

First of all I just want to put this out as a disclaimer; I’m new to both machine learning and pytorch, and my calculus is limited to single variable. With that said, I’m trying to get some intuition about how, why and when gradients are used in neural networks, as they seem to play an important role. From what I’ve learned so far, a gradient is basically the derivative of a vector. I also understand that the chain rule is applied at some point in the process. However, my knowledge of the gradient and its application in a neural network pretty much ends there.

Now let’s get to my questions. Let’s start with the “when” (or rather “where” in this case). Where in the network are the gradients utilized? I’m fairly certain they play a role in back propagation, as I noticed playing around with pytorch that calling the backward() function of a tensor in pytorch changes its .grad value. Are gradients used somewhere else in the neural network, aside from back propagation?

Secondly, what exactly is the purpose of the gradient, and how is it utilized on an intuitive level? Right now, I’m thinking of the neural network and its components in terms of plain numbers, so it’s hard to imagine finding anything to “take the derivative of” or use the chain rule on since I don’t see a function anywhere. Or should I think of the entire graph as just one giant function? If so, what valuable data do we get from “taking the gradient” (if that’s the proper expression)?

Finally, I’ve played around with pytorch quite a bit the last few weeks. As I mentioned above, used the backward() function on a tensor which updated its .grad values. However, its new .grad values seemed to be completely unrelated to its original values. What’s going on here?

I’m not sure how much sense these questions will make. Anyway, I appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks!