Better way to forward sparse matrix

I have a very sparse dataset that is organized as a scipy sparse csr_matrix and it is too large to convert it to a single dense numpy array. For now, I can only extract part of it and convert that part to an numpy array, then to a tensor and forward the tensor. But the csr_matrix to numpy array step is still awfully time-consuming. I wonder whether there is a better method to feed the sparse matrix.

There seems to be experimental support for sparse matrices in PyTorch. I’ve never used them before but maybe this will be helpful - torch.sparse

EDIT: You might want to have a look at this discussion on GitHub regarding the state of sparse tensors in PyTorch.

Thank you for your timely reply. I read torch.sparse in PyTorch documents before posting but wasn’t aware of the github discussion.

Right now I have a solution as below, which is quite fast:

def spy_sparse2torch_sparse(data):
    """

:param data: a scipy sparse csr matrix
    :return: a sparse torch tensor
    """
    samples=data.shape[0]
    features=data.shape[1]
    values=data.data
    coo_data=data.tocoo()
    indices=torch.LongTensor([coo_data.row,coo_data.col])
    t=torch.sparse.FloatTensor(indices,torch.from_numpy(values).float(),[samples,features])
    return t

But it is still not very helpful. When I print(t[0]), it says RuntimeError: Sparse tensors do not have strides. Then how should I extract a minibatch of it?

The .to_dense() method is impossible because it returns RuntimeError: $ Torch: not enough memory: you tried to allocate 141GB. Buy new RAM! at /pytorch/aten/src/TH/THGeneral.c:218

I’m able to reproduce the same error when I run similar code on PyTorch 0.4.1. I can’t help you out here. Maybe @albanD or @smth have some insights.

Hi,

That should work.
At the moment, you cannot access elements of sparse tensors that way, you can access indices and values directly.