Can anybody explain the importance of Embedding for Categorical Variables?

I’m new to PyTorch. I’m working in ANN project and using PyTorch in this project. I didn’t understand the concept of using Embedding for categorical variables. Is it similar to get the dummy variables from Pandas?

What do you mean by categorical variables?

The categorical variables which has ordinal values.

Is it target value for classification task?

Nope. It’s for regression problem. I have some categorical variables in my datasets. In ML, I usually deal with Pandas One hot encoding. But in PyTorch, I cam across embedding concept.

I’ve never seen this before.
Usually embedding layer is used for embedding token’s (encoded words) as it maps it to matrix [sentence_length, embedding_dim] from [sentence_length] and this mapping supposed to have some meaning like king-man+woman=quin in term of vectors.

Dear @kumareshbabuns,
Dummy variables and embeddings (or word embeddings) are two different things. Both are vector representations for categorical variables. The former is a sparse representation where only one of the values of each vector representation is 1 rest being 0. 'Embeddings" are a dense vector representation for categorical variables or words, learned using some other neural network.

One way to understand this in practice could be, say you have 3 categorical variables - a, b and c in your features. Using one hot encoding or pandas dummies you can get a vector representation for a,b, c as [1,0,0] , [0,1,0] , [0,0,1] respectively. Since, there are 3 categories, the size of the one hot encoded vectors is equal to 3, with one value being 1. Imagine you have 10000 unique categorical features, each category will then have to be represented using a vector of size 10000 (hence, sparse).