Can not realize distributed training across machines with DDP

Backgroud

Hi, i’m new to distributed training across machines with DDP. I’m currently writing a simple demo to try it out. My demo can run normally on a single-machine-multiple-GPUs paradigm, but it cannot be applied to multiple-machines. I tried many ways but still can’t solve this problem. I really need some help, thanks.

Environment

• 2 machine, each with 2 RTX3090
  • python==3.6.13
  • pytorch==1.8.0+cu111
  • CUDA==11.1

I have tested in other environment but still facing the same problem:

• pytorch==1.7.0+cu101
  • pytorch==1.8.1+cu111
  • pytorch==1.9.0+cu111

Code

I uploaded my code to GitHub. There are two versions with different launch methods:

I use the TCP version (mnist-ddp-tcp.py) as an example:

Successfully run on single-machine-multi-GPUs

# bash
python mnist-ddp-tcp.py --init_method tcp://[MACHINE0_IP]:[PORT] --rank 0 --world_size 2 --gpuid 0 
python mnist-ddp-tcp.py --init_method tcp://[MACHINE0_IP]:[PORT] --rank 1 --world_size 2 --gpuid 1

Failed to run on multi-machines

# bash machine-0
python mnist-ddp-tcp.py --init_method tcp://[MACHINE0_IP]:[PORT] --rank 0 --world_size 2 --gpuid 0
# bash machine-1
python mnist-ddp-tcp.py --init_method tcp://[MACHINE0_IP]:[PORT] --rank 1 --world_size 2 --gpuid 0

The program is blocked in L78: dist.barrier(device_ids=[gpu]). When I comment out L78, the program gets stuck at L98.

machine0

Possible causes

I speculate that the problem might be with the firewalls of my two machines. But I also observed that the L77 is printed normally, that is, my process group is initialized normally (L74). So I don’t know how to find and fix the problem.

Looks like you are using NCCL as your process group backend? Do you mind giving it a try with Gloo?

1 Like

Yes, i have been using NCCL before.
Now I tried gloo and the program works fine. Thank you for your advice.

Note