Change input of a layer during an end-to-end training

I’m new to pytorch and I would like to design the following model:

Untitled drawing

“Generate Graph” building block is not part of the network and it just generates a graph using features f every batch. I also want the loss function to be end-to-end.

In fact I know how to design a network with two separate parts (Encoder and GCN) but I cannot connect them together with one loss function with the graph_generator() in between!

Could you explain a bit, what the “Generate Graph” block does, i.e. what operations are you using?

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. Sure I try elaborate more.

Generally, I would like to know how I could change the input of the GCN layer during training. I have a GCN(nn.Module) class that inputs a feature matrix, X, and an adjacency matrix, A, and I want to either modify X or A in every batch.

And to explain what “Generate Graph” block does: it uses the features generated by the CNN block to generate graph(s) using k-nearest neighbor approach.

I hope this explains it better.

You could set the requires_grad attribute of both input to True and pass these parameter to the optimizer.
The first step will make sure, that both inputs get gradients, while the latter would of course optimize them using the current loss.

Did you create the “Generate Graph” block in PyTorch?
If that’s the case and also if you didn’t detach the computation graph, you could train the model end2end.
However, if you’ve used non-differentiable methods inside “Generate Graph” or if you’ve used another library such as numpy, you would have to implement the backward method manually.

1 Like

I appreciate your time and reply.

That’s exactly my problem. I didn’t create “generate graph” in pytorch, in fact I use an external library for that. So I believe it causes the computational graph to detach as you mentioned.