CNN+LSTM for Video Classification

I am attempting to produce a model that will accept multiple video frames as input and provide a label as output (a.k.a. video classification). I am new to this. I have seen code similar to the below in several locations for performing this tasks. I have a point of confusion however because the ‘out, hidden = self.lstm(x.unsqueeze(0))’ line out will ultimately only hold the output for the last frame once the for loop is completed, therefore the returned x at the end of the forward pass would be based solely on the last frame, right? What makes this architecture different than processing the last frame alone? Is a CNN-LSTM model an appropriate architecture for this type of problem in the first place? Thank you in advance for any insight you can offer my terribly confused brain!

import torch
import torch.nn as nn
import torch.nn.functional as F
from torchvision.models import resnet101

class CNNLSTM(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, num_classes=2):
        super(CNNLSTM, self).__init__()
        self.resnet = resnet101(pretrained=True)
        self.resnet.fc = nn.Sequential(nn.Linear(self.resnet.fc.in_features, 300))
        self.lstm = nn.LSTM(input_size=300, hidden_size=256, num_layers=3)
        self.fc1 = nn.Linear(256, 128)
        self.fc2 = nn.Linear(128, num_classes)

def forward(self, x_3d):
        hidden = None
        for t in range(x_3d.size(1)):
            with torch.no_grad():
                x = self.resnet(x_3d[:, t])  
            out, hidden = self.lstm(x.unsqueeze(0))         

x = self.fc1(out.squeeze())
        x = F.relu(x)
        x = self.fc2(x)
        return x

Is this your implementation? It looks a bit odd to me, particularly since

is called within the loop, seemingly for a single frame (instead of a sequence of frames).

I can’t be sure however, since I don’t know the shape and nature of x_3d. Right now my guts say the code is off :). In general, CNN+LSTM is a common architecture, though.