[Code review] Combining BCE and MSE loss

Hi all — I’m new to deep learning and PyTorch and am playing with some small examples to learn the ropes. I just wanted to check that I’ve implemented something correctly.

I’m looking to use a CNN to detect whether there’s a quasi-diagonal line in an image of a distance matrix (1 = Yes, 0 = No), and if so where (t_start, t_end), like in the image below.

Here is the code I’ve written:

BCE      = torch.nn.BCELoss()
MSE      = torch.nn.MSELoss()

labels   = torch.tensor([
    # Class, t_start, t_end
    [0, 0, 0],
    [1, 0.25, 0.31],
    [0, 0, 0]
])

# Simulate output = model(distance_matrix)
output = torch.tensor([
    [0.1478, 0.1370, 0.2288],
    [0.7052, 0.3207, 0.5404],
    [0.4511, 0.2978, 0.5279]
])

# Binary cross-entropy error on class labels, mean-squared error on time points
# Use labels to zero-out irrelevant rows
loss = BCE(output[:,:1], labels[:,:1]) + MSE(labels[:,:1] * output[:,-2:], labels[:,-2:])

# etc ...
# loss.backward()
# optimizer.step()

I was wondering whether using the labels to zero out the rows of the output I wasn’t interested in (where class = 0) was the right way to go about this. Thanks!

Hey Nay!

I don’t really understand your overall use case – “test utterance,”
applying the model to a distance matrix – so I don’t have any
thoughts on your “real” problem

Three lower-level comments:

Your code for loss looks sensible and correct. (I’ll leave it up to
you as to whether at the higher level it does anything useful or
what you want it to do.)

As written, your loss doesn’t care at all about the values of
output[0, 1], output[0, 2], output[2, 1], and output[2, 1].
So, in principle, these values – and the weights that produce
them – could drift off and become large. My gut tells me that it
might be beneficial (although hardly essential) to regulate these
output values (that don’t logically matter).

Assuming that a “class-0” labels row – that is, a row i for which