Correct accuracy calculation with DistributedDataParallel

Hi,
I’m using DistributedDataParallel to train a simple classification model. I have some experience with distributed training, but I can’t seem to wrap my head around one specific detail.

Let me refer you to an example provided by PyTorch: examples/main.py at master · pytorch/examples · GitHub
Here, you will see that the accuracy is calculated by a accuracy() function, and the average accuracy is updated using the AverageMeter in the following lines.
From my understanding, this calculates the accuracy for the samples that each GPU receives, not the accuracy of samples across all GPUs. So, this function returns top1.avg, and now we head over to L248, where the model is saved if the accuracy from GPU rank 0 is larger than the best accuracy.

Am I going crazy, or is this intended behavior? Are we assuming that all GPUs receive the same samples, or that the accuracy on GPU0 is somehow representative of entire accuracy?

To show that my interpretation is correct, I wrote a short sandbox code that mimics the code attached above. The AverageMeter and accuracy() functions were all copied from the linked code base. This assumes a 2-class classification scenario, with batch_size=5, and I ran it on 4 GPUs:

acc_meter = AverageMeter()
model = nn.Linear(10, 2).cuda(gpu)
model = DistributedDataParallel(model, device_ids=[gpu])
a = torch.randn(5, 10).cuda(gpu)
gt = torch.randint(0, 2, (5, 1)).cuda(gpu)
outputs = model(a)
acc = accuracy(outputs, gt, topk=(1,))
acc_meter.update(acc[0], a.size(0))
print("Avg: ", acc_meter.avg)
print("Sum: ", acc_meter.sum)
print("Count: ", acc_meter.count)
return acc_meter.avg

There are two issues:

1. As suspected, returning acc.avg will only return the accuracy for current GPU. This means that saving a checkpoint or logging from rank=0 will only checkpoint or log the accuracy from rank=0.