Creating Custom Dataset from inbuilt pytorch datasets along with data transformations

Hi I am quite new to pytorch. I was trying to implement transfer learning with CIFAR10 and resnet18 model built in. For that what I am intending to do is first download original dataset and apply some transformations onto it and the take 500 samples from each class among the 10 classes and create a new dataset with 5000 total training samples(instead of 50,000 samples in original CIFAR10).
In that case, I am just extracting and arranging the indices of the samples of the set as per their class and then randomly picking 500 of them for each class. But with that method I am not able to achieve any performance from the network even if I am doing data augmentations on the original set.
SO is there a way to truly get the 500/per class data(using some custom dataloader) and then apply data augmentation on that to achieve the performance?
Thanks in advance!!

Hey, I wrote this dataset for you that gets a subset of CIFAR10 :slight_smile:. Just set the n_images_per_class to 500 and it should be ready to use!

from torchvision import datasets
from collections import defaultdict, deque
import itertools

class Cifar5000(datasets.CIFAR10):
    def __init__(self, path, transforms, train=True):
        super().__init__(path, train, download=True)
        self.transforms = transforms
        self.n_images_per_class = 5
        self.n_classes = 10
        self.new2old_indices = self.create_idx_mapping()

def create_idx_mapping(self):
        label2idx = defaultdict(lambda: deque(maxlen=self.n_images_per_class))
        for original_idx in range(super().__len__()):
            _, label = super().__getitem__(original_idx)
            label2idx[label].append(original_idx)

old_idxs = set(itertools.chain(*label2idx.values()))
        new2old_indices = {}
        for new_idx, old_idx in enumerate(old_idxs):
            new2old_indices[new_idx] = old_idx

return new2old_indices

def __len__(self):