CUDA error: out of memory - huge embedding layer

I am working on a CNN autoencoder for text with an architecture and loss function like this:
screen shot 2018-08-06 at 4 32 25 pm

def computeCrossEntropy(log_prob, target):
    loss = [F.nll_loss(sentence_emb_matrix, word_ids, size_average=False) for sentence_emb_matrix, word_ids in zip(log_prob, target)]
    average_loss = sum([torch.sum(l) for l in loss]) / log_prob.size()[0]
    return average_loss

I understand the embedding is huge and I can only have a batch size of 8. Otherwise, I would have memory issue (when loss.backward() is called). Apparently, the line below in the loss function occupies 60% of computation time:

[torch.sum(l) for l in loss]

are there any ways I can deal with this memory issue so I can increase my batch size? Like having the embedding layer processed somewhere else, assuming I have multiple GPUs? Sorry for my ignorance as I am pretty new to this. I would like to know the best practice in handling such situation to improve training time. Thanks a lot for the guidance in advance

if you have several gpus you can use dataparallel, which splits the batch in the amount of gpus you have.
If even doing that the embedding is still very big you can go inside the model an manually assign in which gpu you would like to store each tensor (you can ie process conv1 in gpu0 conv2 in gpu1 and so on) however this is not optimal since you are not using gpus in parallel but sequentially.

Check https://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/blitz/data_parallel_tutorial.html

@JuanFMontesinos Thank you very much for the reply. I have already tried both dataparallel and distributeddataparallel. I thought the former would replicate the model in multiple gpus so all of them would have the embedding layer, making no difference in this case, am I right?

For the distributed one, I had to lower the batch size from 8 to 2 for it to run without memory, offsetting its increased speed.