CUDA Tensors vs Pytorch Tensor?

I am new to pytorch but I do program some in CUDA (enough to be dangerous).

My understanding is that when, say, a numpy array is passed as a tensor, then it is in GPU memory. It can then be manipulated by the GPU and finally transferred back to the CPU memory.

Then, there are CUDA tensors. CUDA also operates on GPU memory.

1. What is the difference?
  2. Can GPU profiling be done in pytorch as it can be done in CUDA with the nvidia profiler?

Thank You
Tom

No, numpy arrays will share the same underlying data, if tensor = torch.from_numpy(array) is used (no copy triggered) and can be pushed to the GPU via tensor = tensor.to('cuda'), where operations on this tensor will be executed on the GPU.

I’m not sure what CUDA tensors are. If you are referring to PyTorch tensors on the GPU, then note that each tensor has a device associated with it and can be stored on different devices, such as the CPU, GPU, TPU, etc.

Yes, you can use Nsight systems/compute, pyprof, the autograd.profiler etc.

1 Like

Thank you, most earnestly, for your reply.

I would only request one more bit of clarification, if I may. I can load a .cu file into Nsight Systems Compute (although I had to replace my Graphics card from Pascal architecture to Turing architecture, ouch). But can Nsight read a python script (.py) and interpret the pytorch cuda references?

Thanks Again
Tom

I’m not familiar with reading source files directly in Nsight and am profiling the code first via the CLI.

Thank you again, but are you saying that Nsight has a Command line Interface akin to the Nvidia “nvprof”?

Regards
Tom

Yes, you can fine the CLI options here. The most basic would be nsys profile python script.py and you could add more options e.g. to create backtraces etc.

1 Like

Hi, I want to get the correct runtime …

Do I need to set CUDA_LAUNCH_BLOCKING=1 when using nsys profile?

For example, do you need to do the following ? …

export CUDA_LAUNCH_BLOCKING=1