Custom 2d convolution accuracy issue

Hello
I’ve been trying to build a custom channel-wise convolution operation with multiplication and sum operation so that I can alter the bit-precision during the convolution process.
(I’ve checked several forum articles and all of them told me I should build it with unfold and fold functions.)

But when I replace the torch.nn.conv2d function with my code
There is no error but accuracy seems to degrade a lot
I’m completely new to python and pytorch, and only know basics about neural network so I can’t find what mistakes I made. :cry:

Can anyone please help? I would really appreciate any help.
Also, if there is any tips to save gpu usage I would also appreciate it very much, since my code seems to consume tons of memory so I had to cut the batch size and it’s taking forever to see the results. :sob:

class Conv2DFunctionCustom(Function):
    @staticmethod
    def forward(ctx, input, weight, bias=None, stride=1, padding=0, dilation=1, groups=1):

ctx.save_for_backward(input, weight, bias)
        ctx.stride, ctx.padding, ctx.dilation, ctx.groups = stride, padding, dilation, groups

zeropad = nn.ZeroPad2d(ctx.padding[0])
        batch_size = len(input)
        input_channel = len(input[0])
        input_size = len(input[0][0])
        ochannel = len(weight)
        ichannel = len(weight[0])
        kernel_size = len(weight[0][0])

if padding:
            inp_pad = zeropad(input)
        else:
            inp_pad = input

input_unfold = torch.nn.functional.unfold(inp_pad, kernel_size).transpose(1, 2)

if input_channel < 256:
            input_unfold = input_unfold.unfold(2,input_channel,input_channel)[None,:]
        else:
            input_unfold = input_unfold.unfold(2,256,256)[None,:]

weight_unfold = weight.view(weight.size(0), -1)

if input_channel < 256:
            weight_unfold = weight_unfold.unfold(1,ichannel,ichannel)[:,None,None]
        else:
            weight_unfold = weight_unfold.unfold(1,256,256)[:,None,None]