Custom batching in DataLoader based on a mask

Hello, I’m new to PyTorch and I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I am really stuck with this problem. I have a Dataset created from Numpy objects X and y, and I want to create a DataLoader to pass batches of data to my model. I have another Numpy array users, with the same length as X and y, which tells me which data instance comes from which user (think an array like [0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 2, 2, 2,...]).
I want to batch the dataset such that each batch contains all instances from one user. The number of instances per user can vary, so the batch size is not fixed. I cannot figure out how to do this, but I feel like there should be an easy way that I’m just missing (is this what the batch_sampler argument is for?). Can anyone help with some pointers or a toy example?

Edited to clarify: There are multiple (X,y) pairs for each user in the dataset, and I want to assign all (X,y) pairs belonging to user 1 to batch 1, user 2 to batch 2, and so on. Hope that helps!

DataLoader takes as parameters batch_size = foo. As such it returns batches of batch_size. The exception to this being the final batch. this happens if the length of your data_set is not divisible by the batch_size.

perhaps you may want to structure your data differently

consider this shape for your batches:
[batch_size, seq_length, input_size]

batch_size = number of people per batch this is fixed
seq_length = number of instances from that user
input_size = length of those instances

Depending on what model you are using you may need to pad your seq_length and input_size so that they are all of the same length.

example:
you have dataset of people names
bob
alice
edward

where each row corresponds to one person.

In this case:
input_size: is the length of your one hot encode for the name and
seq_length: is the length of the name
batch_size: is the number of people you will process at one time. This is fixed.