Dataloader for semantic segmentation

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to Pytorch and deep learning in general. I am having 2 folders one with images and another with the pixel labels of the corresponding images. I would like to know how to use the dataloader to make a train_loader and validation_loader if the only thing I know is the path to these folders. I am trying to do something similar to

https://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/data_loading_tutorial.html
but instead of the csv file in the tutorial I have a png pixellabel map for every images. All or Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Nishanth

1 Like

I am assuming there is a folder which contains sub-folders image and mask. The filenames are same. This is a template you can modify it and use. All the best.

import torch.utils.data as data

class DataLoaderSegmentation(data.Dataset):
    def __init__(self, folder_path):
        super(DataLoaderSegmentation, self).__init__()
        self.img_files = glob.glob(os.path.join(folder_path,'image','*.png')
        self.mask_files = []
        for img_path in img_files:
             self.mask_files.append(os.path.join(folder_path,'mask',os.path.basename(img_path)) 

def __getitem__(self, index):
            img_path = self.img_files[index]
            mask_path = self.mask_files[index]
            data = use opencv or pil read image using img_path
            label =use opencv or pil read label  using mask_path
            return torch.from_numpy(data).float(), torch.from_numpy(label).float()

def __len__(self):
        return len(self.img_files)

@Balamurali_M Thank you very much, I will try this

This helped me a lot, I have a question regarding one of the lines in your code. Why do this

for img_path in img_files:
             self.mask_files.append(os.path.join(folder_path,'mask',os.path.basename(img_path)) 

and not use the glob.glob method for img_files? Wouldn’t the label files be in the same order as the img_files if they both have the same name?