Dataloader shuffling best practice

Hello,

I am fairly new to deep learning algorithms and a question comes to mind regarding how to properly shuffle my training data. Looking at the tutorial data_loading_tutorial.html#dataset-class which describes how to create our own dataset, the __get_item__() method seems to be the key point of this class. My question is this:

Should the call to __get_item__() for a given idx must return the same tensor every time? or in other words: should the batch 0 be the same across epochs? Is the shuffle=True parameter in the dataloader sufficient to ensure a complete random distribution of the data? Does it depend on the optimizer or something else (I use Adam’s optimizer in a classification context)? In fact, the tutorial doesn’t seem to rearrange the contents of the batch at each time.

I am sorry if this is not the right place to post my question, please show me where it would be most appropriate to post my question.

Thank you,

Hello @ArthurV

It is the place where you can find the answers.

Is the shuffle=True parameter in the dataloader sufficient to ensure a complete random distribution of the data?

This parameter facilitates the permutation of dataset’s indices. That means each epoch you’ll draw random batch_size samples of data, each iteration.

Should the call to __get_item__() for a given idx must return the same tensor every time?

The __getitem__ method is expected to return the data that available in dataset. You are definitely can introduce some randomization to it, i.e. each time you call ds[idx] it is able to return different data. For example if you do randomly parameterized augmentations (transformations) then it’ll give you different tensors each time you call ds[idx]. But in my opinion there’s no particular need to return ds[10] when you ask for ds[139], while shuffle parameter in Dataloader exists.

Does it depend on the optimizer or something else (I use Adam’s optimizer in a classification context)?