Dataloader with num_workers>1 hangs every epoch

Hi,
I’m using pytorch 0.4 on windows 10 and until now I always used num_workers=0 in my dataloader. in the project I’m currently working on data loading is pretty heavy so I tried setting num_workers>1 (say 4).
it work’s great, except that at the beginning of every training epoch, or when I switch from train to test, the GPU gets idle for some time and then resumes. It usually takes about a minute.
I’m not an expert on multiprocessing with since it only happens at the beginning of a train\test operation I suspect it has something to do with re-creating all the workers.
has anyone ever encountered such behavior? what can I do to solve this?
it doesn’t sound like a long time but my epochs are short (roughly 5 minutes) so a minute of wait for every epoch increases epoch time by ~20% …

thanks!

1 Like

Usually the first iteration takes a bit more time, because all workers have to load a batch.
Do you have a lot of pre-processing or very large samples?

Hi, thanks for responding.
actually i have almost no pre-processing and my samples are audio files with duration of aprrox 1 second so it’s a 1X8000 tensor, not large in any way.
for some reason i believe the set-up of all the workers occurs every time i re-access a dataloader (be it train or test). i’m guessing it’s not a normal behavior.
would it help if i post my dataset code?

Sure, your Dataset code and the training loop would be interesting.

class AudioDataset(Dataset):

"""Dataset Class for Loading audio files"""

def __init__(self, DataDir, timeDepth):

self.DataDir = DataDir
        self.timeDepth = timeDepth
        self.Audio_Sample_Length = 319
        self.sampling_rate = 8000
        self.GlobalFrameRate = 25.2462
        self.audio_duration = 122
        self.quantization_channels = 256
        self.audio_len_in_frames = math.floor(self.audio_duration*self.sampling_rate/self.Audio_Sample_Length)
        self.normalize = True