Does PyTorch support autograd on sparse matrix?

Hi there,

I am a beginner trying to learn PyTorch and there is one question bugging me. I know PyTorch support sparse x dense -> dense function in torch.mm. However, I don’t think it currently supports autograd on sparse variables (say sparse matrix). Examples are:

x = torch.sparse.FloatTensor(2,10)
y = torch.FloatTensor(10, 5)
sx = torch.autograd.Variable(x)
sy = torch.autograd.Variable(y)

torch.mm(sx, sy) # fails

Errors: TypeError: Type torch.sparse.FloatTensor doesn’t implement stateless method addmm

Am I on the wrong track?

Thanks for any comment!

Yiru

2 Likes

Same question! Any idea?

you guys should use torch.matmul which is implemented for both sparse and dense.

I tried torch.mm and torch.matmul for sparse*dense matrix multiplication but get the torch.sparse.FloatTensor doesn't implement stateless method addmm error from both.

it does indeed look like it isn’t working. i’m looking into it.

So the bummer is, autograd is not supported for sparse matrices. Sorry for not looking closely when i replied last.

We dont have any tests in test_autograd for sparse either.

We used sparse directly in nn layers such as nn.Embedding at the implementation level.

We’re tracking the finishing of this feature here: https://github.com/pytorch/pytorch/issues/2389

For torch.mm in particular, it wasn’t that hard for me to make it work with autograd. you can probably patch these in while I send a PR with unit tests and all: https://gist.github.com/anonymous/49c10bc17ac4a97307d52c07d01a2870

4 Likes

Thanks Soumith for looking into this. Patched the changes and it looks like torch.mm works on an example I tried.

I tried, torch.matmul works on a dot b where a is sparse tensor, and b has to have dimension > 1.
So far until 0.2, sparse tensor can’t be the second operand, otherwise there will be some error like "invalid combination of arguments".