Does WeightedRandomSampler increase interations?

I have an imbalanced dataset, which has 3 classes. The major class has 10 times the size of the other 2 minority classes. Say the sizes of each class is [10000, 1000, 1000]. If I use the WeightedRandomSampler, the probability of the minority classes will be better than the major class, which means a batch from a loader will have the same numbers of each class. Does that mean that my dataloader will iterate more times than that of the imbalanced dataset? Suppose I have a batch size of 100, the imbalanced dataset will have 120 iterations((10000+1000+1000) / 100), and with the WeightedRandomSampler, the iteration will be 300?((10000+10000+10000) / 100). Is that correct?

Thank you.

Not necessarily, as you have to provide the number of samples to draw using the num_samples argument. E.g. if you specify to draw 12000 samples with replacement=True, some samples of your majority classes will probably not be drawn.

1 Like

Thank you ptrblck.

You are right. The total number of the data drawn is equal to the size of the dataset, but the number of the majority class decreases and those of minority classes increase.

What if I would like to draw all the images of all majority class? Do I have to count all the numbers of all classes and manually increase the data numbers of minority classes to the number of the majority class? Here is the code snippet

target = torch.tensor(image_datasets['train'].targets)
class_sample_count = torch.tensor([(target == t).sum() 
                                   for t in torch.unique(target, sorted=True)])
weight = 1. / class_sample_count.float()
samples_weight = torch.tensor([weight[t] for t in target])
train_sampler = WeightedRandomSampler(samples_weight, len(samples_weight), replacement=True)