Enable multiprocessing on pytorch XLA for TPU vm

I’m fairly new to this and have little to no experience.
I had a notebook running PyTorch that I wanted to run a Google Cloud TPU VM.
Machine specs:

* Ubuntu
* TPU v2-8
* pt-2.0

I should have 8 cores. Correct me if I’m wrong.

So, I followed the guidelines for making the notebook TPU-compatible via XLA. I did the following:

os.environ['PJRT_DEVICE'] = 'TPU'
import torch_xla.core.xla_model as xm
import torch_xla.distributed.parallel_loader as pl
import torch_xla.distributed.xla_multiprocessing as xmp
device = xm.xla_device()

print(device)

It prints xla:0.

*Models was sent to the device via the model.to(device) function.
*Dataloaders was wrapped in a pl.MpDeviceLoader(loader, device)
*Optimizer is stepped via the xm.optimizer_step(optimizer) function

• As far as I know, this is how to enable multiprocessing:
def _mp_fn(index):
     # models creation
     # data preparation
     # training loop 
if __name__ == '__main__':
  xmp.spawn(_mp_fn, args=())

I get the error:

BrokenProcessPool: A process in the process pool was terminated abruptly while the future was running or pending.

I could be all totally wrong about this. So, I’m sorry for that.
If you need a further look at the code, I can share the notebook if you want.
When I follow the guidelines for single-core processing, and I don’t use xmp.spawn , I get 1.2 iterations/sec which can be significantly increased if used all cores.

To do multi-process in PyTorch/XLA, all xla related code such as device = xm.xla_device() need to be done in the _mp_fn function. You can’t do it in global scope.

2 Likes

I followed an article which led me to write another code but It still doesn’t work.
I state what I did on details here: use-8-cores-on-pytorch-xla-for-tpu-vm.
Can you please check it out?
Thank you so much

Hi Adham,