Extend convolution and parallel on single GPU

Hi, i’m a newbie Pytorch.

Now, I have a problem with my work. I dont find any solution for it.

I want to implement one model like behind image. It will run on single GPU.
My inputs are extended more one dimensions (5 dimensions instead of 4 ). In models, there is 2 submodels. Each submodel has one inputs like my image.

I have to implement 2 submodels which run parallelly to improve performance.

I try to use multhreading on one GPU but the time is the same with sequential models.

Thanks for helping.

Hi,

The CUDA api is asynchronous by default, this means that if you do

out1 = net1(in1)
out2 = net2(in2)

This will run in parrallel on the gpu if it can (enough compute available).
So I would expect no improvement by using multithreading on a single GPU :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for reply.
But with backward () function, Does it still run in parallel ?

Hi,
I also have another question. With same batch input, like that:
out1 = net1(in1)
out2 = net2(in1)
Does this run in parallel?
If not, how to do it?

Hi,

It’s the same for the backward method, it uses cuda calls that are asynchronous, so it will run in parallel if you GPU allows it.

On a single gpu, whenever you ask for something to be done on the gpu, it is added to a stack and returns. So if you do a lot of operations, the only thing that you do is add all of them to the stack. What the gpu is doing, is as soon as it has free compute, it takes the next item in the stack and execute it. So if your gpu has spare compute, it will always run as many stuff at the same time as possible.

Thank for repling,

With second question, with same input for 2 submodels. I think with same input, net2 has to wait the input in1 which net1 is using (althought GPU can enough compute available). Then, it is not parallel. Is it true?

Why would it need to wait? you can read in1 twice without issue.
If you were doing

out1 = net1(in1)
out2 = net2(out1)