Extracting features from pre-trained CNN, but got same value of any frame

Hi, I’m new in PyTorch. I tried to get the inner layer of ResNet-101 and also Vgg (both pretrained) as features of images. But when I took a look at the features, the output from ResNet are all having same value, and also output from Vgg…

Is there anyone knows the problem? Thank you.

What is your use case and when do the features look the same?
Also how did you visualize them?

I tried to extract features for frames in videos. So I first split video into frames with 32fps. And then I use the following code to extract pool 5 layer as features (save to .pt).

def Preprocess(input_image):
    transform = transforms.Compose([
        transforms.Resize(256),
        transforms.CenterCrop(224),
        transforms.ToTensor(),
        transforms.Normalize(mean=[0.485, 0.456, 0.406], std=[0.229, 0.224, 0.225]),
    ])
    input_tensor = transform(input_image)
    batch = input_tensor.unsqueeze(0) # create a mini-batch as expected by the model
    return batch

input_image = Image.open(inputFile)
input_batch = Preprocess(input_image)
model = models.resnet101(pretrained=True)

res101_conv = nn.Sequential(*list(model.children())[:-1])

for param in res101_conv.parameters():
     param.requires_grad = False
outputs = res101_conv(input_batch)
result = outputs[0].flatten()

And I check the output of each frames, frame 1 feature is similar to frame 1000. I used consine similarity to check. this is the code.

cosine = nn.CosineSimilarity(dim=1, eps=1e-6)
print(cosine(frame_one.view(1, -1), frame_two.view(1, -1)))

What are these frames showing, what is the prediction, and which features do you expect?
Is the prediction wrong for both frames or why are you concerned?