Faster R-CNN input question

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here and I’m new to pytorch in general. So I’m wondering if you guys can help me understand the Faster R-CNN documentation: TorchVision Object Detection Finetuning Tutorial — PyTorch Tutorials 1.7.1 documentation

I’m trying to train an object detection model for heart conditions/anamolies on chest x-rays. I expect a large percentage of the data will be healthy people (i.e. no objects to detect). In this case, what should be the bounding box? As I understand, the torchvision model still expects a nontrivial bounding box even if no object is present, is that right? If so, would I just take the bounding box to be the whole image? Or something else?

Thank you in advance for any tips or assistance.

The faster rcnn training process expects a percentage of positive anchors as well as negative anchors of the region proposal batch fed to the roi heads, and if the bounding box dicts are empty it will throw an error if I remember correctly.

I think you will have to tweak the Generalized RCNN code as well as the RPN code in torchvision to deal with the scenario of having no anchors with an IOU of a ground truth bounding larger than the threshold. The RPN will still output a batch of region proposals whose objecteness scores are closest to 1.

I encountered this issue since the MS COCO 2014 object detection dataset has some images with no boxes. Most pre-processing I saw simply discarded those images, but in your case that probably doesn’t make sense since you want to be able to output something like “no anomalies” for an image, not to mention the fact that in order to eliminate false positives your model needs a decent amount of healthy person images.