FCN8s Implementation - Network not learning

Hi everybody!

I am new to PyTorch and attempting to implement and train a VGG16-based FCN8s architecture for binary semantic segmentation from scratch, based on the FCN paper by Long et al. I have successfully done so in Keras+TF before and I can’t figure out why the loss is not decreasing in this case (constantly around ~0.693 with minor variations).

My FCN Module is as follows:

class FCN(nn.Module):  

def __init__(self, num_classes=1):
        super().__init__()

self.num_classes = num_classes

self.block1 = self.conv2(3, 64)
        self.block2 = self.conv2(64, 128)
        self.block3 = self.conv3(128, 256)
        self.block4 = self.conv3(256, 512)
        self.block5 = self.conv3(512, 512)

# Convolution Block combining 2 Convolutions followed by ReLu Activations and Max-Pooling
    def conv2(self, num_in, num_out):
        return nn.Sequential(
            nn.Conv2d(num_in, num_out, kernel_size=3, stride=1, padding = 1),
            nn.ReLU(inplace=True),
            nn.Conv2d(num_out, num_out, kernel_size=3, stride=1, padding = 1),
            nn.ReLU(inplace=True),
            nn.MaxPool2d(2, 2)
        )

# Convolution Block combining 3 Convolutions followed by ReLu Activations and Max-Pooling
    def conv3(self, num_in, num_out):
        return nn.Sequential(
            nn.Conv2d(num_in, num_out, kernel_size=3, stride=1, padding = 1),
            nn.ReLU(inplace=True),
            nn.ReLU(inplace=True),
            nn.ReLU(inplace=True),
            nn.MaxPool2d(2, 2)
        )

def forward(self, input): # Input: 224 x 224 x 3

# VGG16 ENCODER

x = self.block1(input) # -> (112 x 112 x 64)
        x = self.block2(x) # -> (56 x 56 x 128)
        x = self.block3(x) # -> (28 x 28 x 256)
        pool3 = x
        x = self.block4(x) # -> (14 x 14 x 512)
        pool4 = x       
        x = self.block5(x) # -> (7 x 7 x 512)

x = nn.Conv2d(512, 4096, kernel_size=3, stride=1, padding= 1)(x) # -> (7 x 7 x 4096)