Focal loss performs worse than cross-entropy-loss in clasification

Hello,
I am working on a CNN based classification.
I am using torchvision.ImageFolder to set up my dataset then pass to the DataLoader and feed it to
pretrained resnet34 model from torchvision.

I have a highly imbalanced dataset which hinders model performance.
Say ‘0’: 1000 images, ‘1’:300 images.
I know I have two broad strategies: work on resampling (data level) or on loss function(algorithm level).
I first tried to change the cross entropy loss to custom FocalLoss. But somehow I am getting even worse performance like below:
focalloss

my training function looks like this can anybody tell me what I am missing out or doing wrong?

def train_model(model, data_loaders, dataset_sizes, device, n_epochs=20):

optimizer = optim.Adam(model.parameters(), lr=0.0001)  
    scheduler = lr_scheduler.StepLR(optimizer, step_size=30, gamma=0.1)
    loss_fn = FocalLoss().to(device)
    history = defaultdict(list)
    best_accuracy = 0
    for epoch in range(n_epochs):
        print(f'Epoch {epoch + 1}/{n_epochs}')
        print('-' * 10)
        train_acc, train_loss = train_epoch(
          model,
          data_loaders['train'],
          loss_fn,
          optimizer,
          device,
          scheduler,
          dataset_sizes['train']
        )
        print(f'Train loss {train_loss} accuracy {train_acc}')
        val_acc, val_loss = eval_model(
          model,
          data_loaders['val'],
          loss_fn,
          device,
          dataset_sizes['val']
        )
        print(f'Val   loss {val_loss} accuracy {val_acc}')
        print()
        history['train_acc'].append(train_acc)
        history['train_loss'].append(train_loss)
        history['val_acc'].append(val_acc)
        history['val_loss'].append(val_loss)
        if val_acc > best_accuracy:
            torch.save(model.state_dict(), 'best_model_state.bin')
            best_accuracy = val_acc