Get the position of on object out of an image

Hello! This is not really a PyTorch question, and I apologize for this, but I hope someone can help me anyway. I have some images with a fixed background and a single object on them which is placed, in each image, at a different position on that background. I want to find a way to extract, in an unsupervised way, the positions of that object. For example, us, as humans, would record the x and y location of the object. Of course the NN doesn’t have a notion of x and y, but i would like, given an image, the NN to produce 2 numbers, that preserve as much as possible from the actual relative position of objects on the background. For example, if 3 objects are equally spaced on a straight line (in 3 of the images), I would like the 2 numbers produced by the NN for each of the 3 images to preserve this ordering, even if they won’t form a straight line. They can form a weird curve, but as long as the order is correct that can be topologically transformed to the right, straight line. Can someone suggest me any paper/architecture that did something similar? Thank you!

If I understand correctly, your problem is similar to the usual bounding-box based detection but you rather want a point representing the center of the object rather than thd bbox.

I am not sure to follow the second part though, how would that be different from detection?

Thank you for your reply. I was thinking too to use something similar to bounding-boxes. However, don’t they require supervised learning i.e. don’t you need to actually label the right boxes for the training set? I want to find the position in an unsupervised way.