Get values from tensor without detaching?

I’m a little new to PyTorch. I’m training a model where the loss is computed as the MSE between running the output of the model through a function and running the training sample through the same function. To run the output through the function, I need to access the values of the output tensor in my model and convert them to numpy arrays (which requires you to detach the tensor before converting). However, I can’t detach the output because I need to maintain the computation graph for back propagation. How can I access the value of the output tensor without detaching it?

1 Like

You could use clone, you could do some like,

loss_as_numpy_array = loss.clone().detach().numpy() #copy and detach
loss.backward() #backprop loss
1 Like

Unfortunately that’s not fixing the error I’m seeing (RuntimeError: element 0 of tensors does not require grad and does not have a grad_fn), but I realize the issue is likely elsewhere in my code.

I assume the input values to the loss (nn.MSELoss()) function need to have the graph structure attached in order to backpropagate the loss through the structure. Right now, I’m using the output of the function mentioned above as, which obviously doesn’t include the graph structure, as input to the loss function. Is there any way to reattach the graph structure? I’ve looked into creating custom loss functions in PyTorch, but the function I’m passing the outputs through can’t be easily implemented using PyTorch functions alone. (I’m using another neural network as a discriminator, and I want the network I’m training to minimize the loss between running the output through the NN discriminator and the running the training sample through the NN discriminator. The loss should still be differentiable given that I only need to take the MSE between the two outputs…)

Could you share some code or a reproducible snippet?