GPU Running for Pyro using MyModel().to(device) not responding

Dear All,

I am new to using PyTorch and Pyro with a GPU. I already have my model, but it takes a long time to run on a CPU. That’s why I’m considering shifting to GPU. However, I’m not sure if my system is running on the GPU or not, even though torch.device is successfully set to CUDA. I’m wondering if the to.(device) command will automatically instruct Pyro to run on the GPU.

When I check my system performance during runtime, the GPU usage is almost 0%, but the CPU usage varies. I’ve tried using a simple code to test GPU usage. I would greatly appreciate any advice or help you can provide.

Thank you.
import torch
import pyro
from pyro.nn import PyroModule, PyroSample
import pyro.distributions as dist
from pyro.infer import MCMC, NUTS

Check if CUDA is available and set the device accordingly

device = torch.device(“cuda” if torch.cuda.is_available() else “cpu”)
print(f"Running on device: {device}")

Define a simple Pyro model using pyro.Module

class MyModel(PyroModule):
def init(self):
super().init()

def forward(self):
    x = pyro.sample("x", dist.Normal(0,   1))
    y = pyro.sample("y", dist.Normal(x,   1))
    return y

Instantiate the model and move it to the GPU

model = MyModel().to(device)

Perform inference using MCMC

nuts_kernel = NUTS(model.forward)
mcmc = MCMC(nuts_kernel, num_samples=100000, warmup_steps=500)
mcmc.run()

Could you try to run e.g. the MNIST example and check if your GPU is used?

1 Like

Thank you for your valuable advice. I implemented the MNIST example and closely monitored the performance of my NVIDIA GPU. Surprisingly, the GPU appears to contribute only 3% to the overall computation, while the majority of simulations run on the CPU. I’m uncertain whether this distribution is reasonable or if there might be an issue with the GPU connection? Should I do further amendment with my installation? Below, you’ll find the performance plot for reference: