GRU model not training properly

I’ve tried reimplementing a simple GRU language model using just a GRU and a linear layer, the code is at https://www.kaggle.com/alvations/gru-language-model-not-training-properly

But when the model is predicting, we see that it’s only predicting “the” and comma “,”.

Anyone spot something wrong with my code? Or hyperparameters?

I’ve replied to your Stackoverflow post. Maybe not a proper/full answer, but some food for thoughts.

1 Like

From @Chris’ Stackoverflow post:

I’m by no means a PyTorch expert, but that snippet looks fishy to me:

# Put the embedded inputs into the GRU.
    output, hidden = self.gru(embedded, hidden)
    # Matrix manipulation magic.
    batch_size, sequence_len, hidden_size = output.shape
    # Technically, linear layer takes a 2-D matrix as input, so more manipulation...
    output = output.contiguous().view(batch_size * sequence_len, hidden_size)
  • When GRU is not instantiated with batch_first=True, then the output shape is (seq_len, batch, num_directions * hidden_size) – not that seq_len and batch_size are flipped. For the view command it actually doesn’t technically matter, but that’s my main issue here.
  • view(batch_size * sequence_len, hidden_size) doesn’t look right at all. Say you start with a batch of size 32, but after that you have size of 32*seq_len. Usually, only the output of the last step is used (or the average or the max over all steps)

Something like this should work:

# Put the embedded inputs into the GRU.
    output, hidden = self.gru(embedded, hidden)
    # Not needed, just to show the true output shape order
    seq_len, batch_size, hidden_size = output.shape
    # Given the shape of output, this is the last step
    output = output[-1]
    # output.shape = (batch_size, hidden_size) <-- What you want

Two personal words of warning: