Having trouble with autograd and slicing

Hi all,

I’m quite new to torch and am struggling to understand why my code here is giving an error. I’m working on a seq2seq type model, here is the relevant code

def forward(self, x, y, is_eval=False, weighted=False):
        batch_size = x.size(0)
        n = x.size(1)
        y_pred = torch.zeros_like(y).cuda()
        encoder_outputs, _ = self.encoder(self.embed(x))
        decoder_outputs = torch.zeros(batch_size, n, self.decoder.output_size).cuda()
        dec_h = None

for i in range(n):
            # Update the decoder
            embedded = self.embed(y_pred[:, i-1:i]) if i > 0 else torch.ones_like(y_pred[:, 0:1])
            decoder_outputs[:, i:i+1, :], dec_h = self.decoder(embedded, dec_h)
            prev_edge = torch.ones((batch_size, 1, 1)).cuda()  # This tracks s^(t)_i,j-1

edge_h = None
            for j in range(i+1):
                theta, edge_h = self.edge_level(prev_edge, edge_h)
                edge_mlp_input = torch.cat((x[:, i:i+1, j:j+1],
                                            theta,
                                            encoder_outputs[:, i:i+1, :],
                                            decoder_outputs[:, i:i+1, :]), dim=2)

edge_prob = self.activation(self.edge_mlp(edge_mlp_input))
                if is_eval: # sample the sigmoid
                    y_pred[:, i:i+1, j:j+1] = sample_vector(edge_prob) if not weighted else edge_prob
                    prev_edge = y_pred[:, i:i+1, j:j+1]
                else:
                    y_pred[:, i:i+1, j:j+1] = edge_prob
                    prev_edge = edge_prob
        return y_pred

The Encoder and Decoder are just standard GRU RNNs from torch.

I am training with a very standard training loop you would find on any of the torch examples (hence the error is not coming from the is_eval section of the fwd pass), and I get the following error: