Help why torch.cuda.is_available return True but my GPU didn't work

Cuda driver is the 11.2 and the cudatoolkit is 11.0 and after import torch torch.cuda.is_available return True

How did you check that the GPU isn’t working?
What does nvidia-smi show after you push the model and inputs to the GPU and execute a forward pass?

Similar issues.

PyTorch version: 1.7.1+cu110
Cuda version: NVIDIA-SMI 460.27.04 Driver Version: 460.27.04 CUDA Version: 11.2
(This is the latest beta driver for Ubuntu; needed to fix persistent driver crash.)
torch.cuda.is_available(): True
When running a model: RuntimeError: CUDA error: no kernel image is available for execution on the device

Now, I am a PyTorch/Cuda newbie, so user error is a real possibility.

What are the compatibility rules for Cuda/PyTorch? Should the Cuda 11.0 PyTorch build work with 11.2? A doc on the Nvidia web site suggests it should, FWIW. Or, should I rebuild from sources as suggested for other instances of this issue?

Your local CUDA installation won’t be used, if you are installing the binaries, which ship with their own CUDA runtime. You would thus only need the appropriate driver.

The error message is raised, if you are using a build, which doesn’t support your GPU architecture, so which GPU are you using?

well , i have used a RTX2070s and after I install back my cuda version to 10.2 and pytorch version to 1.6 it just works so I think the newest version don’t have good compatibility

I cannot reproduce this error using the 1.7.1 binaries with CUDA11.0 as well as CUDA10.2 and this code snippet on an RTX2070:

import torch

print(torch.cuda.get_device_name())
print(torch.__version__)
print(torch.version.cuda)
x = torch.randn(1).cuda()
print(x)

Result:

GeForce RTX 2070
tensor([1.7284], device='cuda:0')
GeForce RTX 2070
tensor([0.8304], device='cuda:0')

so the binaries should contain the needed architecture code.

@ptrblck, thanks much for your response. You asked about my GPU: