How are optimizer.step() and loss.backward() related?

Hi.

I am pretty new to Pytorch and keep surprised with the performance of Pytorch :slight_smile:

I have followed tutorials and there’s one thing that is not clear.

How the optimizer.step() and loss.backward() related?

Does optimzer.step() function optimize based on the closest loss.backward() function?

When I check the loss calculated by the loss function, it is just a Tensor and seems it isn’t related with the optimizer.

Here’s my questions:

(1) Does optimzer.step() function optimize based on the closest loss.backward() function?

(2) what happens if I call several different backward() from losses and call optimizer.step()?
Does the optimizer optimize based on all previous called losses?

Thank you!

44 Likes
  1. optimizer.step is performs a parameter update based on the current gradient (stored in .grad attribute of a parameter) and the update rule. As an example, the update rule for SGD is defined here:
    https://github.com/pytorch/pytorch/blob/cd9b27231b51633e76e28b6a34002ab83b0660fc/torch/optim/sgd.py#L63.

2. Calling .backward() mutiple times accumulates the gradient (by addition) for each parameter. This is why you should call optimizer.zero_grad() after each .step() call. Note that following the first .backward call, a second call is only possible after you have performed another forward pass.

So for your first question, the update is not the based on the “closest” call but on the .grad attribute. How you calculate the gradient is upto you.

51 Likes

This is certainly not true if you specify retain_graph=True, and in some simple cases, it seems to be possible to backpropagate multiple times even without specifying retain_graph=True (but I don’t understand why). Also, the docks for backward say about retain_graph,