How does nn.Embedding work?

I am new in the NLP field am I have some question about nn.Embedding. I have already seen this post, but I’m still confusing with how nn.Embedding generate the vector representation. From the official website and the answer in this post. I concluded:

1. It’s only a lookup table, given the index, it will return the corresponding vector.
  2. The vector representation indicated the weighted matrix is initialized as random values and will be updated by backpropagation.

Now my question are:

1. If I have 1000 words, using nn.Embedding(1000, 30) to make 30 dimension vectors of each word. Will nn.Embedding generate one-hot vector of each word and create a hidden layer of 30 neuron like word2vec? If so, is it CBOW or Skip-Gram model? What’s the difference between nn.Embedding and nn.Linear
  2. Now, I am researching about the Visual-Question-Answering tasks. Any suggestion about using pretrain vector representation, e.g. word2vec, in question vocabulary or not using it?
14 Likes
  1. It’s neither CBOW nor Skip-Gram, which are models trained end-to-end to predict the context given the word, or the word given the context. Here, nn.Embedding is optimized as part of your training task. Consequently, after training, you can expect to have embeddings that are specific to your task rather than generic embeddings that generate a more general representation which can be more or less useful depending on your task. To illustrate, you can imagine having a screwdriver that works on some screws but if your screw is very specific, then you will need to change your tool for your specific task.
  2. Using pretrained vectors is generally a good starting point but you should consider retraining/fine-tuning the vectors for your specific task

[EDIT]: difference between Embedding and Linear: Linear expects vectors (e.g. one-hot representation of the words), Embedding expects tokens (e.g. words index)

8 Likes