How to allocate more GPU memory to be reserved by PyTorch to avoid "RuntimeError: CUDA out of memory"?

Hello,
I’m not experienced in PyTorch very well and perhaps asking a weird question.

I’m running my PyTorch script in a docker container and I’m using GPU that has 48 GB.
Although it has a larger capacity, somehow PyTorch is only using smaller than 10GiB and causing the “CUDA out of memory” error.

Is there any method to let PyTorch use more GPU resources available?
I know I can decrease the batch size to avoid this issue, though I’m feeling it’s strange that PyTorch can’t reserve more memory, given that there’s plenty size of GPU.

RuntimeError: CUDA out of memory. Tried to allocate 124.00 MiB (GPU 0; 47.51 GiB total capacity; 9.21 GiB already allocated; 15.06 MiB free; 9.74 GiB reserved in total by PyTorch)

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

2 Likes

And I noticed that even after reducing the batch size, I still encounter the problem at the second epoch (not while the first mini-batch iteration).
And I confirmed that I’m not trying to save the list of models or the list of losses themselves. (Saving loss.item() as a list instead)

Is it probably because the accumulated gradient graph is exploding in size and it’s unavoidable?

I tried torch.cuda.empty_cache() too but it didn’t help in my case.

Does the issue go away if you run the same process on the machine directly (as opposed to running it inside the Docker container?) In that case, it could be due to some kind of Docker (or Docker + CUDA) limitation. I’ve run into this before and couldn’t find an easy fix online, but you might be well served to also ask the same question on a Docker forum.

Regardless, if the batch size is part of what’s hogging memory, you could give this project a try. With 1.6k stars on Github, it looks promising, though I cannot confirm whether it works.

1 Like

Could you check if other processes are using the device and are allocating memory via nvidia-smi?