How to convert TensforFlow Keras model to PyTorch

Can anyone help me convert this model to PyTorch? I’m just a beginner trying to do a college exercise. :slight_smile:

model.add(Dropout(0.05, input_shape=(497,128))) 
model.add(Conv1D(filters=16, kernel_sizes=51, padding='valid', activation='relu')) 
model.add(BatchNormalization()) 
model.add(MaxPooling1D(pool_size=2)) 
model.add(Dropout(0.6))
model.add(Conv1D(filters=18, kernel_size=51, padding='same', activation='relu'))
model.add(BatchNormalization())
model.add(MaxPooling1D(pool_size=2))
model.add(Dropout(0.6))
model.add(Bidirectional(LSTM(units=100), merge_mode='concat'))
model.add(Dropout(0.25)) 
model.add(Dense(units=2, activation='softmax'))

@ptrblck i’ve seen you a lot in the forums and i’ve learned a lot with you already. Can you help me out this time? :slight_smile:

You should be able to directly post most of the layers and add them into an nn.Sequential container.
E.g. something like this would work:

model = nn.Sequential(
    nn.Dropout(p=0.05),
    nn.Conv1d(in_channels=TODO, out_channels=TODO, kernel_size=51, padding="valid", padding_mode=TODO),
    nn.ReLU(),
    nn.MaxPool1d(2),
)

There are a few differences, i.e. you would need to specify the input features/channels manually and would need to add the non-linearities as separate modules.
(You could also use nn.Lazy* modules in case you don’t want to calculate the input features/channels)

The main issue in porting would be the Bidirectional(LSTM) layer as I don’t know what exactly it’s doing in your code. PyTorch has an nn.LSTM module, which can also work in a bidirectional way via an input argument, but as it’ll return the output as well as the states I would not wrap it into an nn.Sequential container, but use a custom module for it so that you can make sure the outputs are processed in the desired way.