How to define a new layer with autograd?

Hi all,

I am new to pytorch and also new to autograd. My question is : Do I need to compute the partial derivatives for my functions parameters?
For example: My new layer want to compute a 1-d gaussian probability density value, the function is,
f(x)=a * exp^((x-b)^2 / c)) ,
where a,b,c are the parameters need to be updated. I think all of these operations are basic operation and the output is a scalar. Do I still need to write backward code like we do in Caffe? Or May I just define a new module only with forward function then pytorch will compute the parameters’ derivatives automatically for me?

3 Likes

Sure, this will be handled for you. For example:

import torch.nn as nn
from torch.autograd import Variable

class Gaussian(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self):
        self.a = nn.Parameter(torch.zeros(1))
        self.b = nn.Parameter(torch.zeros(1))
        self.c = nn.Parameter(torch.zeros(1))

def forward(self, x):
        # unfortunately we don't have automatic broadcasting yet
        a = self.a.expand_as(x)
        b = self.b.expand_as(x)
        c = self.c.expand_as(x)
        return a * torch.exp((x - b)^2 / c)

module = Gaussian()
x = Variable(torch.randn(20))
out = module(x)
loss = loss_fn(out)
loss.backward()

# Now module.a.grad should be non-zero.
11 Likes

Thank you so much for your kind help! I still would like to ask few questions:
(1) should we add super(Gaussian, self).__init__() after def __init__(self):?
(2) After we add this new module to our network and start to train it, Do I only need to use

optimizer = optim.SGD(net.parameters(), lr = 0.01) optimizer.zero_grad() output = net(input) loss = criterion(output, target) loss.backward() optimizer.step()

to update all the parameters?

1. My bad, I have typed the example quickly just to give you a sense of how the code should look like, so I forgot about the super call. Nice catch!